Book

3 ratings since posting on Saturday, January 22, 2005
in Everywhere
website
(submitted by C-Lo )

Overall Rating

*****

based on 3 ratings
Sort reviews by: Newest  |  Rating  |  Connections
Advertisement
*****
THE SECRET BEHIND THE CROSS AND CRUCIFIX
The Secret Behind the Cross and Crucifix, written by author Nwaocha Ogechukwu, provides the reader with the author's thought-provoking and controversial views pertaining to the historic and spiritual meaning of the Crucifix.
Composed primarily in a Conversational narrative, the text flows at a brisk tempo that should maintain the reader's interest throughout. The author's knowledge of the Scripture is apparent from the earliest passages, which could lend an authoritative air.
Overall , the offering is well organized in presentation, and passionate in content!

Reviewed by
Jean WahlBorg,
Editorial Coordinator
Dorrance Publishing Company (less) - Author Nwaocha Th... , posted 04/16/11
*****
It's Rumi!
I haven't read it, but it must have some wonderful stories and insights in there. - Elonifer , posted 05/14/06
*****
New Rumi Novel!
I am pleased to announce that my new novel -- THE MOTH TO THE FLAME -- the complete life story of Sufi poet Rumi, is now available from AMAZON.COM. For lovers of Rumi, poetry, and mysticism, it's the inside story of how he became a poetic genius and illuminated teacher. Here's the back jacket copy:
???From my first breath I have longed for Him. This longing has become my life. ??????Rumi



The Moth to the Flame is the story of the meeting of two human beings that, like the conjunction of two planets, realigned the fates. Although it happened long ago, during another time of war between Islam and the West, this tale of an individual life fully lived is the tale of every life: Rumi ???s yearning for God is our yearning, his anguish, our anguish, his victory, our victory. In the tradition of Siddhartha or The Last Temptation of Christ, his story is the mythic story of the human soul.

In this first novel about him, based on original sources in both Farsi and English, we discover the key moments that shaped his poetic genius. We watch his faith tested, and we witness his meeting with the beloved, which overturned his world and led, eventually, to his union with God.

For centuries, Rumi has remained as alive as Shakespeare in the hearts of millions of Muslims. Today, in the West, where he is a bestselling poet, he burns like a torch of inspiration for us all.

Connie Zweig, Ph.D., a student of the mystical practices of Hinduism, Buddhism, and Sufism for more than thirty years, is a therapist and spiritual counselor in Los Angeles. She is co-author of Meeting the Shadow and Romancing the Shadow and author of The Holy Longing. This is her first novel, the inner story of holy longing as lived by Sufi poet Rumi.



Enjoy the book and please tell your friends,

Connie


Connie Zweig, Ph.D.
conniezweig.com
Author of Meeting the Shadow,
Romancing the Shadow,
The Holy Longing - C-Lo , posted 01/22/05

Book was recommended for:

Share/Save/Bookmark
post to tribe
recommend or request

search local favorites

browse